Three Twenty One

Visual Essays are Accessible

cosmos

One of the 3 tenets of visual essays is accessibility. I was reminded why when reading Nicholas Kristof’s op-ed column in the New York Times. His article, Professors, We Need You!, highlights an issue I felt was very present during my undergraduate and graduate years in university. Kristof talks about how academics have marginalized themselves and their work through snobbery and increasing specializations.

A basic challenge is that Ph.D. programs have fostered a culture that glorifies arcane unintelligibility while disdaining impact and audience. This culture of exclusivity is then transmitted to the next generation through the publish-or-perish tenure process. Rebels are too often crushed or driven away.
– Kristof

I believe that much of what I studied in school – theories and concepts in the humanities, arts, and sciences – is fascinating to the average person. And the academics who put out the work are very worthy of being read and studied! Unfortunately, a lot of that work is shrouded in that “arcane unintelligibility” or access to the work is filed away behind paywalls or obscure journals. Most people never receive access to this work and even if they did, it’s daunting to know where to begin.

To be clear, I’m not against sophisticated writing or a business model that allows an academic to make a living off from their life’s work. What I am against is the disdain or suspicion against those who want to make their theories and concepts easier to digest or access. I want us to live in a world where both can co-exist because we can’t have one without the other. Heck, this blog wouldn’t exist without the academic works I’ve cited or used as a basis for my own visual essays.

So, with much respect to academia, I look forward to being delighted by more visual essays. I look forward to creating more and sharing them with you. I look forward to academia returning to the public sphere in ways that help shape the public. And I think the public does too. In fact, this past weekend, my Facebook page was lit up with excitement for Cosmos, the new television science series from Neil deGrasse Tyson. For a science show! Not the latest reality singing show or zombie apocalypse show, but science! Looking forward to what is coming next…

___
Images:
[1] Fox Broadcasting

2 comments on “Visual Essays are Accessible

  1. isabel
    April 24, 2014

    I look forward to being delighted by more visual essays, too! I wonder if this problem that you speak about, happens when the mind gets out of balance with the heart. It seems based in fear, right? This needing/wanting to remain a special person because of your ideas? I am a big fan of ideas as a pastime. I am easily intrigued with the mind. But if I live there too much… life gets dry and then if I start to feel afraid, I can get clingy to my ideas. The problem is they never really fulfill me in the way that an open heart does, though, and it can be easy to devolve into a self-aggrandizing posture of “how important and special” those ideas are 😉

    Like

    • Shirley
      April 25, 2014

      I think you nailed it – this is really about fear when mixed with things that are easily seductive, but ultimately empty, like power and money.

      I hope we can all move onward with an open heart, and be fulfilled in the ways you describe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2014 by in Television, Visual Essays and tagged , , , , , .

Stuff I said before

