Three Twenty One

Trailers: That Electric Feeling

“No mind is much employed upon the present: recollection and anticipation fill up almost all our moments.”
– Samuel Johnson

I’m sure many of you are like me and love to watch the trailers on the big screen before the start of a movie. The lights dim, the popcorn is still hot, and then bright green splashes across the screen. The trailers begin. It could be the first of many, which, for me, is a great thing but I’m guessing there are those who do not find this enjoyable. To you, I say more for me.

Trailers are more fun than the actual movie, a lot of times. Maybe it’s the excitement of something new – discovering your favorite actor is in a new movie or seeing for the first time the images of a movie you have been waiting to be released. Perhaps it’s our short attention spans being satisfied by a quick and dirty recap of a longer piece of work. I believe the deliciousness of a good trailer comes from the act of anticipation.

Anticipation can be a good or a bad thing. When it is good, it can make you smile uncontrollably. When it is bad, as in stage fright, it can make you anxious.

When the last Harry Potter book was released, I waited one month before reading it. (I worked in a bookstore at the time, so you can imagine that was a bit strange.) It wasn’t that I was purposely withholding; rather, I enjoyed anticipating it more than actually reading it, and I wanted that feeling to last just a little bit longer. When I am sitting in that seat at the movie theater and the first trailer begins, it’s an electric feeling. I feel tingly. I feel like I’m truly at an event. It doesn’t matter what the movie is about, because when I am watching its trailer, there is still hope that this will be the best movie ever. Anticipation is electric. Barney says it best: Anticipation is legen – wait for it – dary!

Do you like trailers? Seen a good one lately?

__

Images:
[1] Image from MPAA
[2] Becca Stadtlander

7 comments on “Trailers: That Electric Feeling

  1. thedailymonty
    June 24, 2012

    I’d definitely have to agree with you on the anticipation in trailers! I’ll get really excited for a film after seeing the trailer, but I’ve found once it comes out, I’m not in a big hurry to see it.

    Like

    • Shirley
      June 25, 2012

      Isn’t it funny how that happens? Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. isabel
    August 24, 2013

    The moment the trailers begin is one of my favorite moments in life. For me, it’s the whole multifaceted theater experience… comfy seats in that big dark space… nowhere else to be… discovering new movies that I wasn’t aware of, is thrilling and fills me with hope and gratitude… and then a whole new movie to luxuriate in (that, yes, is sometimes disappointing.) Even if it is, I’m already anticipating another movie almost immediately!

    Like

    • Shirley
      August 26, 2013

      Wow, I love your description of how this experiences unfolds for you. I also love how, when you’re sitting in that big dark room, and even if you’re not speaking to anyone around you, you are sharing this great moment with the other people in the theater. A really unique experience!

      Like

  3. isabel
    August 26, 2013

    Yes, that’s true! The shared experience part is powerful, too… unless the theater is really crowded..then it’s too much 😉

    Like

    • Shirley
      September 1, 2013

      Haha, that’s true! The only time I actually had a good time with a packed theater was watching Bridget Jones 2 in a UK theater. It was a lot of fun!

      Like

  4. isabel
    September 1, 2013

    I was imagining you in the UK having fun, and I realized it depends on whether I’m alone or with friends. With friends, I don’t really mind how packed it is (unless it’s noisy), but if I’m alone, I like more space!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 21, 2012 by in Film.

Stuff I said before

